MUVE Viewer 1: Imprudence

Who it is developed by

Imprudence is an open-source OpenSIM viewer that was first made available in 2008. It is developed entirely by volunteers.

The software is regularly maintained and updated, and the development staff hold a weekly in-world ‘meetup’ where users can discuss development ideas with the team [source]. Transcripts of all the meetings can be viewed at the source link as well.

What functionality it provides

Imprudence is a very slightly scaled-down viewer, primarily used for Second Life, but I was also unaware when I first used Imprudence that it could also be used for other OpenSIM based platforms, such as Kitely.

According to the Second Life Wiki [link], Imprudence lacks several features of the Second Life viewer, including Mesh Object Rendering, multiple attachments, and support for managing large groups, which means that your Second Life experience may be less than ideal.

kitely1

My first time using Imprudence to view Kitely

How it compares to others

The general consensus from everybody I have spoken to about Imprudence is that it is extremely stable software.

I also gather that Imprudence is the ‘go-to’ software if you are having problems with other viewers. On my first day of MUV601, I was unable to access Second Life by using Second Life viewer, and Clare plus several students in the class told me to try logging in on Imprudence instead. When that failed, I was told ‘If it’s not working on Imprudence, it’s not working anywhere.’

My problem, in fact, turned out to be graphics card-related, and my entire computer had to be replaced, but I digress…

What my impressions of it are

Due to it’s ease-of-use and stability, I am considering switching to Imprudence from Second Life Viewer. I like the fact that I can use other OpenSim platforms as well, because I will no doubt be using these platforms in the near future in this class.

Links:

One thought on “MUVE Viewer 1: Imprudence

  1. You are a little out of date with some of the information here. Imprudence is no longer being actively worked on although I think Kokua (its next incarnation) is I think. The reason Imprudence doesn’t support the latest SL features like media on a prim and mesh is that it was based on SL V1 code.

Leave a Reply

