First Post

Hi there!

I was unsure what to expect from this class but after a great first lecture I’m very excited about getting stuck into MUV601! It’s quite a different subject from any I have taken previously so I’m looking forward to all the challenges it will bring.

As requested by Clare, here is my first blog post, in which I will answer the questions posed to each of the students on the class blog.

What is a virtual world?

As far as my understanding goes, a virtual world can be defined as a simulated environment through which users can interact with each other. This does not necessarily have to be defined as a game, although I feel that the most popular and easily available virtual worlds are MMORPGs, or Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games.

What is interesting to me about virtual worlds?

I have to be honest and say that I can be quite closed-minded when it comes to the subject of virtual worlds. I remember last year in ITC501 when we first touched on the matter, I was slightly skeptical about the practical and perhaps constructive uses of this kind of software. This is one of the reasons that I joined MUV601 in the first place, because I would like to broaden my knowledge on virtual worlds rather than make an unfair and uninformed judgement about the subject.

How important do you think virtual worlds are?

Now that I have spent slightly more time researching, it’s safe to say that there is huge potential for the uses of MUVEs, but I am unsure as to whether the software is being utilised to its full potential at this point in time.

How important do you think virtual worlds will be in 5-10 years?

I have now heard of MUVEs being used to teach new procedures to medical staff and for training military personnel for combat, which can be invaluable and life-saving exercises, but I feel as though there is a way to go before this kind of software is made completely mainstream. I do hope that in the near future these kinds of programs will become more readily available, as they will certainly make a difference in the world.

Leave a Reply

